Buffalo Chicken Mac and Cheese

Two of my favorite things: Buffalo Chicken. Mac and Cheese.

I have been seeing recipes for this dish all over the blog world lately. I knew I had to make it myself at some point and finally committed to doing so.

I found that most of the recipes I came across called for a ton of ingredients that I didn’t have in my kitchen and didn’t want to buy just to make this meal.  This led to me just omitting them all together. I used this homemade mac and cheese recipe a while back and loved it so much as is that I knew it wouldn’t let me down.

Here is my modified recipe. (at least 4 servings)

  • 2+ cups of pasta
  • 1/4 cup of butter
  • 1/4 cup of flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon of pepper
  • 2 cups of milk
  • 2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 lb of chicken
  • Frank’s Red Hot
  1. Cook the pasta as you normally would. Same goes for the chicken. While the pasta and chicken are cooking preheat the oven to 350°.  It is important that the pasta is done cooking by the time you finish making the cheese sauce (it will take about 5-7 minutes to make the sauce).
  2. In a sauce pan melt the butter. Once the butter is melted add the flour, salt and pepper. Stir constantly until it is all mixed together and starts to bubble a little.
  3. Remove the pan from the heat and add the milk. Put the pan back on the burner and bring to a boil. Stir constantly for 1 minute.  Then add the cheese. Keep stirring until it becomes a creamy, cheesey sauce!

At this point your pasta should be strained and back in the pot. Add the cheese to the pasta. Stir well. Put the mixture into a baking pan (8×8 or 9×9 pan recommended).

If you want mac and cheese as is, then throw it in the oven and you’re good to go! If you want buffalo chicken mac and cheese (which is highly recommended) mix chicken and hot sauce in a separate bowl. Let it sit for a minute and then add the chicken to the top of the mac and cheese. Put in the oven and let cook for 20-25 minutes.

Hope you all enjoy this recipe! I definitely did and will many times in the future.

1 Comment

Filed under Eat

One response to “Buffalo Chicken Mac and Cheese

  1. Phil

    Nom nom nom, I think this and some warm chocolate chip cookies would be a good welcome home gift when I get back from ohio 😉

Leave a Reply

