Moving obstacles

After sleeping for a short 5 hours we awoke to the obnoxious alarms going off on our phones. As tempting as it was to hit snooze and go back to sleep in the extremely comfortable king size bed that our hotel provided us with, we knew we had to bite the bullet and hit the road!

I was pleasantly surprised when I walked outside of the hotel and saw the Budget Truck sitting there in the parking lot still in once piece. (I had a huge fear of someone trying to break in and steal my stuff….even with a pad lock on the back of the door. Happy to say, no bad guys attempted any funny business.)

Phil and I hit the road for the second long day of driving. We had 8 hours of driving ahead of us on Sunday. We were cruising right along until we approached Chicago. Sure, I’ll gladly sit in two hours of creeping traffic after I’ve been in the car for almost two days…no problem. NOT. This was extremely frustrating. We just wanted to get to Wisconsin and be done with all of this!! When Phil told me we had only gone 5 miles in 40 minutes I couldn’t help but laugh.

Traffic is something I just don’t understand. I get it if there is construction or an accident or something but when you’re in stand still traffic and then all of a sudden out of no where are driving at a normal speed again it just boggles my mind. No comprendo! Anyone have an explanation for this?! I’d love to be informed.

Phil and I finally arrived in Madison. The plan was to unpack everything that was going into Phil’s apartment first and then head over to the storage unit with everything else. We were both so motivated to get everything moved in. I was gathering our things out of the cab of the truck as Phil went to unlock the back of the Budget Truck. All of a sudden he peaks his head around the corner and tells me that the lock won’t come off the truck. I give it a try and it won’t budge. We tried for a few more minutes and then put our thinking caps on. It went a little something like this…

  • First, call Budget Truck road side assistance
  • Budget Truck tells us to call AAA
  • AAA says they can’t help to remove pad locks and direct us to call a local locksmith
  • Local locksmith says it will be $98 to remove the lock since it is a Sunday
  • We say “no thank you” to the locksmith
  • Call back Budget Truck. They call other locksmiths. Give us a quote of $150. We say, “no thank you”
  • Call Dad and complain to him about the situation. He says go to a hardware store and buy bolt cutters
  • Phil calls Home Depot, I call WalMart
  • WalMart tells me they have bolt cutters for $20. It sounded too good to be true.

Phil and I trekked to WalMart and happily spent only $20 on bolt cutters. Phil took the pleasure of cutting the stupid pad lock off of the truck.

At this point we were both starving. All we could think about was sitting on the couch with some dinner and beers. We decided that we just needed to push through and get. it. over. with.

We moved a few items into Phil’s apartment (we are both very impressed with how little I actually moved in. I think Phil thought this apartment was going to become complete girl, but that is not the case)!

Next we went over to the storage unit and unloaded the rest of my stuff! So here it is, what my life looks like for an unknown amount of time!

So, there you have it. The long two day journey to Madison ended up being a success! I am so happy to be here and can’t wait to blog about everything from this point forward. đŸ™‚ Enjoy your Thursday night, everyone!

Leave a comment

Filed under Madison, Moving

Leave a Reply

