Pandora vs. Grooveshark

I must say, this morning FLEW by! I can’t believe it is already noon! I would normally be excited for lunch around this time but I just ate a delicious slice of banana bread that was leftover from a morning meeting. That should hold me over for a bit 🙂

But anyway! Lets get to today’s topic.

I am sure that all of you have heard of Pandora radio and maybe you have all heard of Grooveshark as well. Grooveshark is a more recent discovery for me (about a year ago, thanks Phil! :)). I can not say for sure that I prefer one over the other. I have found a way for the two to work together. Here is what I’m thinking.

Pandora: This is a great way to listen to music and discover new songs of a certain genre that you particularly like. Something that I can’t stand about Pandora is that when you want to listen to a certain song or you want to listen to the same song two times in a row, you can’t. Pandora doesn’t allow you to do that. You have to listen to the songs that they pick for you. If you skip 7 songs in an hour, then you’re screwed and stuck listening to music you might not care for. Another thing that bothers me is that Pandora has incorporated commercials into the music. Yes, they are short but I still find them annoying when I’m cruising along on a run and all of a sudden have someone speaking to me about something I don’t care about as opposed to the next song on the Lady Gaga station.

Grooveshark: I love Grooveshark because you can create your own play lists and pick the songs that you want to listen to. When you log back in all of your play lists will be saved and you can pick up where you left off or skip around to whatever song you please. The trouble I have with Grooveshark is that sometimes they don’t have the song I’m looking for. And every Adele song that I try and add to a play list disappears (dislike). And iPhone won’t let you load Grooveshark to listen to while you run because they have some agreement with Pandora.

SO with that being said, I have taken it upon myself to use the two to my advantage. Throughout the day I will put on a Pandora station. When I hear a song that I like, I log into Grooveshark and add it to one of my play lists! I get to discover new music and then listen to it again at a later time. Win, win.

I suppose I should get back to work and hope this afternoon goes by just as fast as this morning did. Three more hours until the Wednesday work day is over!! Woohoo!

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

