1/2 Marathon Training

As I have mentioned before, my friends and I are running our first half marathon all together at the end of this month. I have run 1 road race in my life and it was a 5k when I was a freshman in high school. Taking this into consideration, I am not nearly as nervous as one may think.

This is the training program that I have been “following.” I use that term very loosely. I have been TERRIBLE at training for this half marathon. At first this schedule was motivating and made me feel excited about the race. Then between working two jobs, trying to have a social life, being sick for 10 days, jet-setting to NYC, PA, and next up Chicago, has made it really hard to stay on top of this. I have been running on my own time when it’s convenient for me. One thing I have been trying to do is stick with a long run on the weekends. I have run 8 miles two different times at this point. This weekend coming up I plan to tackle 10 miles. I think this will be a challenge considering over the last 12 days I have run 2 times since I was sick (first with a stomach flu and then with a killer head cold. awesome.) Wish me luck!

I think the fact that I am running this race with a group of friends makes me less nervous. We are running this race to finish. None of us are running competitively and we plan to just enjoy the whole experience. (I do have a personal goal to finish in under 2 hours, but we’ll see). If all goes well, I plan to sign up for more races in the future! Yay! 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Work out

Leave a Reply

