How the LDR began

Three words for you. Long distance relationship. (LDR)

Today after reading Kristen’s blog (as I have everyday over the last few months) she sparked an idea for today’s post. I know I mentioned my long distance relationship previously, as it is something that has become a huge part of me, but in this post you will get to hear a little more about it and learn a lot more about me! πŸ˜€

It all started Freshman year of college when I met a boy named Matt in English class.

me and Matt. Oldie but goodie

He introduced me to his group of guy friends, which is how I met Phil.

Phil πŸ™‚ He looks so young here!

Phil and I were both in relationships at the time, so we were just friends.

Freshman year of college. 2005. AH so young!

Despite both being in relationships, I developed a slight crush on Phil. Throughout the next 2.5 years Phil and I were close and then drifted, as it can happen with friends. Senior year of college something changed between us. There was always some sort of known liking of each other, but neither of us ever acted on it. As senior year went on, more feelings developed and we were able to spend a ton of time together. πŸ™‚

We went on spring break together (with all of our friends of course)!

The crew πŸ™‚ St. Patty's day on spring break.

Yes, Phil got his hair corn rowed. Yes, my sunglasses are ridiculous.

I bring up the spring break trip because this is when things became official for Phil and me. There is a whole lot of gray area as to when we actually started dating, but we decided that spring break was the start of it all πŸ™‚

We started hanging out a lot more after spring break. After a few weeks of being back from our trip, Phil got accepted to grad school….in Illinois. When he broke the news to me, naturally I was SO happy for him but really upset at the same time. All I could do at this point was enjoy the time we had left together.

Graduation was on our minds, and then before we knew it, graduation arrived.

Graduation day, UNH 2009

The crew at our post graduation BBQ

It was a wonderful day with wonderful friends and family (oh hey, nostalgia), but everyone knew goodbyes were coming. I hate goodbyes. I knew Phil would be my hardest goodbye, especially not knowing what was going to happen between us. We decided to just go with it. We decided to take a chance. We were going to be in a long distance relationship.

He moved to Illinois. I moved back home to Maine. Both being involved in failed long distance relationships in the past, I wasn’t sure what to make of this situation. We decided to take it day by day. We planned visits, we had countdowns, we convinced ourselves that there was an end in sight.

A visit to Illinois, 2009

The “end in sight” for us was supposed to be May of 2010. As you know, this didn’t happen. After grad school Phil got a job in Wisconsin, which is where he lives now. I currently live in Boston, which is where I have lived since December of 2009. We have been doing a long distance relationship ever since we graduated college in May 2009, sigh.

A visit to Wisconsin 2010

So there you have it. The story of me and Phil. Making a long distance relationship work is hard but there are definitely things you can do to make it successful. It just takes a little practice and enough desire to want to be with that person. πŸ˜€

My musts for a long distance relationship to work:

  • Phone calls
  • Text messages
  • Skype dates
  • Skype sleeps (yes, sleep with skype on)
  • Snail mail–I love sending Phil cards and random gifts and love receiving them as well! Who doesn’t?!
  • Trust
  • Plan visits–it is so much easier to be apart when you have a visit to look forward to!

Sorry if my sappy story was a bore to anyone. It allowed me to take a nice trip down memory lane πŸ™‚

Happy Friday!!!

3 Comments

Filed under Long distance relationship

3 responses to “How the LDR began

  1. Hi Hannah! Thanks for the mention πŸ™‚

    You and Phil have been through so much! If it has worked this long then you have something special. So many people look so long… we are blessed. πŸ™‚

    • Anytime πŸ™‚
      And yes, it seems as though you and I are both pretttttty lucky! Thanks for the comment! I’m new to this whole blogging thing so everything is exciting…even just a comment haha.

    • Dad

      OMG. I can’t read this without crying. It is nice to know that we brought up such a nice daughter and to know that she is so happy.

Leave a Reply

