Cuatro de Mayo!

First off, Happy Cinco de Mayo!! As I previously said, I won’t be able to participate in the margaritas and Mexican food that come along with this fabulous little holiday because I am stuck working this evening (boo). One of my roommates–Jamie–and I decided to have a Cuatro de Mayo feast instead. I was too exhausted to blog anything last night (being sick this week has really made me tired) so lets talk about dinner now instead!

Jamie and I put together a quick and easy taco dinner. It consisted of soft and hard taco shells (because we couldn’t make up our minds) and all the fixings. Salsa and guacamole are two key components to Mexican food for me.

In the tacos I put beef, cheese, lettuce, guac and salsa (both of which were bought from Trader Joe’s). If you haven’t tried the pre-made guac from Trader Joe’s, I highly recommend it. If you haven’t tried the chopped hot salsa from Trader Joe’s, go buy some right now. I forget the exact name of it (I’ll let you know later) but it is amazing and I could easily eat the whole container in one sitting.

Along with our Mexican feast we needed something to drink.

Sangria!

Homemade sangria sounded like a great choice! In our sangria we put:

  • 1 bottle of red wine
  • 1/2 cup of triple sec
  • 1 liter bottle of soda water
  • 1 orange
  • 1 lime
  • 1 lemon
  • 1 apple

Let me tell you, it was delish! You could definitely add any variation of fruit that you’d like. Next time I would like to try a berry fruit theme!

You would think one would be full after a huge feast and sangria. Wrong.

Leftover Easter candy

A handful (or two) of Easter candy was consumed after this delicious meal. For some reason after I eat dinner I always crave something sweet. Lucky (or unlucky?) for me, there is still leftover Easter candy hanging around the apartment. While it fulfilled my craving, at this point I want to eat the rest of the candy so it will just be gone! Throwing it out would be a waste so I neeeeeeed to eat it! 😉

I hope you all have a great Cinco de Mayo! Go out after work and enjoy a margarita for me ;).

Leave a comment

Filed under Drink, Eat

Leave a Reply

